Thursday, 5 September 2013

Angel by LA Weatherly

Angel by LA Weatherly (Book 1: Angel Trilogy)
First Published: October 2010
Source: Purchased
Angels are all around us: beautiful, awe-inspiring, irresistible.
Ordinary mortals yearn to catch a glimpse of one of these stunning beings and thousands flock to The Church of Angels to feel their healing touch.But what if their potent magnetism isn't what it seems?Willow knows she's different from other girls. And not just because she loves tinkering around with cars.Willow has a gift. She can look into people's futures, know their dreams, their hopes and their regrets, just by touching them. But she has no idea where she gets this power from.
Until she meets Alex…Alex is one of the few who know the truth about angels. He knows Willow's secret and is on a mission to stop her.The dark forces within Willow make her dangerous – and irresistible.In spite of himself, Alex finds he is falling in love with his sworn enemy.

Angel by LA Weatherly was a book that I thoroughly enjoyed, I never thought I would like the book as much as what I did. I’m not a fan of the whole Angels thing.

This book, what can I say? It was love at first chapter! I really enjoyed finding out about all the little tit-bits in the book and how they were related and I liked finding out about the characters and what drove them to do what they did do. I really liked the way in which the characters where dimensional and had different opinions and I loved the whole bad angel vibe that was going on for most of the book. Who doesn't like a bad boy (or maybe a bad angel?)?

We have to talk about Alex, I hated him to start with for the way he was treating Willow, but as the story continued I really ended up feeling for him (and loving everything about him) and could see why he did what he did do. I also feel that as a character I saw more of a change in him. Willow for me tended to stay the same throughout, she stands up for what she believes in and protects those that are close to her. She is a really great character in anyone’s eyes.

The plot was fast paced from the get go and I feel that this was a blessing for the book. I felt that it needed the action throughout as it would have been one slow read had the action not been in the book. Talking of the plot however I felt that the ending was pretty pointless! I just felt that we went on a full circle and that Willow shouldn't have been pressurized into doing something that everyone around her thought could harm her or the others. I felt that the book had ended before this point and I do feel that it was added as a little bit of filler to both show what a good person Willow is/so the book would have a little more content. Don’t let this discourage you though as I still really enjoyed the book and the story.

This book is a must read if you haven’t read a angel book in a while and are looking for something a little different from the usual kind of angel novels. I cannot wait for to read the second book in this series and will hopefully get to it really soon. I can not wait!


I know I haven't been around AT ALL since January but I have been super busy and haven't had any time at all to sit down and write any reviews. I have been pretty active though and have created a Youtube channel. My first videos went live last week and you can check out the channel by clicking HERE.

Although I haven't been blogging I have been keeping up with the blogging world and still most importantly reading. So that means that I have a lot of reviews coming your way in the next few week. I have also set up a schedule so that I know when I am posting and what I am going to be posting. I also know that it is a schedule that I will be able to keep to so that means no more breaks.


Thursday, 24 January 2013

Breathe, Sarah Crossan

Sarah Crossan
First Published: October 2012

Alina has been stealing for a long time. She's a little jittery, but not terrified. All she knows is that she's never been caught before. If she's careful, it'll be easy. If she's careful.

Quinn should be worried about Alina and a bit afraid for himself, too, but even though this is dangerous, it's also the most interesting thing to happen to him in ages. It isn't every day that the girl of your dreams asks you to rescue her.

Bea wants to tell him that none of this is fair; they'd planned a trip together, the two of them, and she'd hoped he'd discover her out here, not another girl.

And as they walk into the Outlands with two days' worth of oxygen in their tanks, everything they believe will be shattered. Will they be able to make it back?

I was really excited when I first heard that Breathe was coming out, it seemed really intriguing and my kind of book, I at once wanted to read it. I don't know why it has taken until now to finally read it as I have had is since September, however I am glad I waited as I don't think I could stand waiting a year to read the second book (Legend I'm looking at you when I say this).

So the plot was fast paced and there was a great cast of characters, I found it hard to put this book down and wanted it to go on for so much longer. While I did enjoy the book for the most part I did have a smallish issue with it, I wanted more action, I wanted a bigger battle scene. It seemed that the main battle was over within a few minutes, also the timing was a little bit off, how could someone go from being in the heat of a battle outside the Pod to back in the Pod within a couple of hours when it took some characters days to get to? There was no real consistency I suppose.

The characters were a huge plus in my book, they really engaged and the development really grew as the book progressed. I felt that I really got to know the characters and I feel in part this was down to the way the chapters were set out.

I found the world building really easy to follow and could actually picture the way the world looked. One problem I found difficult to picture was the air masks needed to stay alive on the outside, I don't really understand the whole air tank thing, it seemed like they didn't need big bottles of air, which I thought they would.

Overall I really enjoyed this book, the characters were stunning and so was the plot. I really can't wait for the next book in this awesome trilogy.

Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Mid Week Update

I thought from now til the end of the year I want to keep tracks on what I am up to with reading and TV shows. So I am going to be making this post each week just talking about what I am reading and what I am watching on TV. There will also be a YouTube video that will be posted to concise with this post each week. My YouTube link is: ReadingnReviewing

  • Beauty and the Beast: I've actually only just seen the Pilot episode but so far so good, I actually liked it a lot better than I thought I would and am really interested in seeing the rest of the season.
  • Lewis: This started a couple of weeks back and I've already fallen back in love with the series, the only problem I am having is that ITV have decided to cut the episodes in two parts, where last year they used to be feature length episodes.
  • Beautiful Creatures: I'm nearly half way through this and really enjoying it. I never expected to like it as much as I am and I've bought the next two books in the series as I can not wait to read on.
  • Something Like Normal:  I just started this last night and already I am loving everything about it. It is a fast paced fun read, that has a lot of issues tied down. This just all equals my kinda book.
  • There's not much happening on the blog. Post don't start to kick in until tomorrow.

Sunday, 20 January 2013

2013 A New Start (To Blog or Not To Blog)

Hi, I kinda abandoned this blog over the Christmas period. Truthfully I could lie and say that I was super busy but that isn't entirely the truth. Yes I was really busy over the Christmas period and the months leading  up to the Holidays but in all truth I fell out of love with reading. Yes we all have reading slumps but I felt that the blog was getting in the way of what I wanted to read. This blog is mainly a YA blog and I found myself only reading those titles, when in truth I wanted to read all the adult titles that were coming out. In a way I feel like blogging was getting in the way of my reading.

Any way I realized that I really enjoyed blogging, I find it quite relaxing and find that I like having an input in the blogging world and the world of books. I guess this is my comeback post.

Anyway I know that I must change some things up so here is a list of what I want to do different this year:

Review Everything: I am going to review everything that I read on this blog, whether that be adult or YA. It is a blog about books after all.
Schedule: I want to have some kind of schedule so that I am not writing the post up the day they are posted. So far I've thought of doing a movie review on a Monday, doing a new feature on a Wednesday, having a book review on Thursday and Sunday and finally having so kind of feature on a new books on a Friday. I'm working out the fine tuning on the new feature and the new books feature.
Showcase Self Published: I've quite a bit of Self Published work over the last few months and I have to say I've enjoyed reading a lot of the books, so feel like sharing them.

So there you have I'm having a new start and hopefully I won't be having anymore breaks in the future.

Thursday, 1 November 2012

The Wolf Princess

The Wolf Princess
Cathryn Constable
First Published: October 2012

Alone in the world, Sophie dreams of being someone special, but she could never have imagined this. On a school trip to Russia, Sophie and her two friends find themselves on the wrong train. They are rescued by the beautiful Princess Anna Volkonskaya, who takes them to her winter palace and mesmerizes them with stories of lost diamonds and a tragic past. But as night falls and wolves prowl, Sophie discovers more than dreams in the crumbling palace of secrets.
I'll start off by stating the obvious I loved this book, it was perfect for the cold, dark, windy nights and one that many will enjoy. It will transport you from wherever you are reading it to the cold snowy peaks in the Russian forest. 

I was a little wary to start with thinking it was going to be to young for me to read but I am pleased to say that it was a book I thoroughly enjoyed and one that I will read again in the future. I felt asthough I had been transported back to the first time I read The Lion, The Witch and The Waredobe, that doesn't happen often and it takes something special for me to fully feel that way.

I loved the story and finding out about Sophie, I loved her group of friends and how they supported her, I could find no fault in the writing style and found it to absorb me and make me want to read more and more. I feel that it would be the perfect book for Christmas.

Thursday, 4 October 2012

League of Strays

League of Strays
L. B. Schulman
First Published: October 2012
Source: Publishers for Review
Available From: Amazon UK

League of Strays is a suspenseful debut novel that follows a group of school outcasts in their quest to get revenge on those who have wronged them. When a mysterious note appears in lonely Charlotte's locker inviting her to join "The League of Strays," the good girl's interest is piqued. What she finds is a motley group of loners and an alluring, manipulative leader; Kade. Kade convinces the group that they need each other to get back at the classmates and teachers who have slighted and wronged them. But Kade has bigger plans. From vandalizing their school to causing fights between other students, the story culminates in a dangerous plot where lives are threatened and Charlotte must finally decide between her loyalty to the League or her own conscience.

I first heard about this book through NetGalley, they had it up for review and I was interested in reading the book. I must admit after that I had a look on Goodreads I was a little hesitate in reading the book. However I don't think the criticism of this book is needed, no it is not perfect but it doesn't deserve the hate it has been receiving.

It is a story about revenge and friendship and what you need to do to over come the barriers and find out for yourself what is right and what is wrong. This book does this perfectly by using Charlotte, the new girl in town, who hasn't made a lasting impression on anyone, who is vulnerable and easily influenced. It works well, not only do we find Charlotte but there is also Zoe who doesn't let anyone close, so no one hurts her and then there is Nora who does everything in her power to be perfect, yet has no friends to show for it. Ritchie and Kade are a double team to start with, we have Ritchie who never does anything without Kade's say so. I really enjoyed the dynamic of the group and how each couldn't truly trust the other as no one knew who was capable of what. I actually really liked the way the characters interacted and how they became their own persons as the story went on, however I think some believed in the League more than others.

Now lets talk about the scene in which everyone on Goodreads seems to have a negative opinion on, was it needed yes it was, we really got to see the characters for who they were, we got to see how the reacted to the situation and that made the story more believable. A lot of the characters changed that night for me, I felt for Nora up until that night. It didn't have to go for as long as it did but I felt at that point no one could walk away everyone was were Kade wanted them to be.

Overall this was a great contemporary read were you didn't know how far the characters would go right until the end of the book. I think the ending was perfect as we knew that not all the characters came out of it better people.